Minutes of the Farnham u3a AGM held on 11th September at 2pm at Farnham Maltings

Prior to the AGM members not attending the AGM had been given the opportunity to vote by post or online effectively giving the chair proxy to vote on their behalf at the AGM. 64 members voted in this way.

The chairman Andrew Morgan opened the meeting at 2:00 PM and welcomed those attending.

Apologies

Apologies had been received from committee members Val Atkinson and Bruce Merrells. Apologies were received from other members Hazel Brand, Hans Sparkes, Clive and Sanchia Vinall, Keith and Mary Williams, Charles Stuart, Barbara Bradshaw, Anne Price, John Townsend, Di and Jo Huddlestone.

Minutes of the 2022 AGM

These were accepted as an accurate record of the meeting.

Proposed by Philip Oliver. Seconded by Malcolm Ellis

51 votes in favour, none against, no abstentions - total votes in favour 105

There were no matters arising.

Hon. Treasurer's report

The accounts had been available on our website for some time and in summary the Treasurer reported that we had made a small profit of £4000 following two years of losses post Covid. Our membership numbers had returned to pre Covid levels and we would try to maintain subscriptions at the current level. However, our contract with the Maltings expires in 2024 and until it has been renegotiated there cannot be certainty about 24/25 membership costs.

The accounts were approved:

Proposed by Micheal A'Bear. Seconded by Anthony Clift

51 votes in favour, none against, no abstentions - total votes in favour 105

Election of Officers and Committee Members.

The Chair, having reluctantly decided to stand down (Secretary's note, he will remain a committee member) introduced his proposed successor Philip Oliver and suggested that as there was no competition for any of the proposed positions the Committee be voted for en-masse. The following member were approved unanimously.

Officers

Chair

Philip Oliver

Vice Chair

Jane Moberley

Hon. Secretary

Val Atkinson

Hon. Treasurer

Shree Merriman

Other Committee Members

Groups (& Database)

Malcolm Ellis

Membership

Cynthia Barnett

Events

Vivienne Miller

Membership Engagement

Jane Moberley

Comms and PR

Bruce Merrells

Venues

Stephen Tilburn

Programme

Annette Kratz

Future Development

Andrew Morgan

Proposed by Anne Mitchell, Seconded by Glennis Turner

51 votes in favour, none against, no abstentions – total votes in favour 105

Independent Examiner

The Chair stated that Glennis Turner had kindly agreed to be our Independent Examiner for a further year. This was agreed unanimously.

Proposed by Shree Merriman. Seconded by Sue Willson

51 votes in favour, none against, no abstentions - total votes in favour 105

Any Other Business

There being no other business the meeting closed at 2:20pm.

V, math

Secretary

Date of approval 18/9/23